Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Derringer 9mm Pistol

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
supaclueless polycounter lvl 12
Been working on this at the moment. Finally moved from Toolbag 2 to 3 and this is my first attempt at trying out some new stuff like realtime GI and new lighting setup in there.

I want to personally thank Marmoset on the awesome toolkit they have, will be trying out their baker in the future as well. The idea of cleaning up skewed normals is REALLY enticing.

Playing around with the scene setup to git gud at having nicer presentations and used several old props I had for the backdrop. This is the Highpoly with color materials only. Will now be focusing on making the lowpoly next.

Replies

• Gazu
    Offline / Send Message
    Gazu polycounter lvl 11
    Nice Weapon. Do you want to bake this Weapon?
  • supaclueless
    Offline / Send Message
    Yup, once I have the lowpoly done I will be baking and texturing it.
  • supaclueless
    Offline / Send Message
    Finally managed to get the bakes and lowpoly done for this. Now onward to texturing! (and fixing a slight normal shading bug I found after making these images)

• CrackRockSteady
    Bake looks nice, looking forward to the final textures :)
  • supaclueless
    Offline / Send Message
    Managed to get somewhere with texturing, still want to tweak a bunch of stuff and whatnot. finally able to get back on this piece, been a sorta busy month. Noodling around with image-taking as well.

• Polygoblin
    Offline / Send Message
    Polygoblin polycounter
    The bottom of your bullet shouldn't have the mark from the firing pin. Only spent casing does. Also some doughy edges around the top of that barrel. it'd be worth a rebake to get more support edges in there and better define those details. stands out as-is
  • supaclueless
    Offline / Send Message