Home Technical Talk

[MEL] Vertex Color to UV (Textureless Workflow)

asah53
vertex
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
asah53 vertex
Hello Guys,

I am currently working on my Bachelor Thesis for which I am developing a textureless workflow with Unity and MayaLT. I wanted to push as much Vertex information into the modell as possible. As Unity supports only one Vertex Color Channel, I am running into problems. This single Vertex Color Channel is color and baked occlusion information. Now I wanted to create metall and smoothness Information as vertex colors which are only greyscale. What I am now trying is to write a MEL Script which puts the vertex colors into the uv's. I found a script in python for blender which is capable of doing this : http://answers.unity3d.com/questions/137453/multi-layered-texturing-multiple-vertex-color-sets.html
This is my first try with MEL and I am now a little stuck. This is what I got:

//creating a new uv set
polyUVSet -cr -uvs "Metallic";

//set metallic as active uv set   
polyUVSet -currentUVSet -uvs "Metallic";

//convert the object selection into vertex selection 
ConvertSelectionToVertices;

//select metallic vertex color set as active   
polyColorSet -currentColorSet -colorSet "Metallic";

Not much, I know. I am now asking,  is it even possible to write such a script in MEL?

Thanks for you answers
Andreas

Replies

• radiancef0rge
    Offline / Send Message
    radiancef0rge ngon master
    What are you trying to do in the above script? Right now I can't really tell what you are trying to do with it. 

puts the vertex colors into the uv's
    I don't follow this - vtx color is a float4 and uvs are a 2 axis coordinate. In this circumstance what I believe you'd want to do is convert your selection from vertex to uvs then set one of the coordinates of the uv to 1 and the rest to 0. 
  • asah53
    Offline / Send Message
    asah53 vertex