Home Technical Talk

Maya LT vs. Blender (and some other questions too)

polygon
Offline / Send Message
Krato polygon
Hello, 

I own Blender, Zbrush, and most recently Substance Painter. I am considering purchasing Maya LT because I am not made of money and buying Maya proper is way too expensive. I'm not here to ask if Maya or Maya LT is better than blender. What I'm curious about is... is Maya LT sufficient enough to handle everything I would need for modeling. I know it's the budget version of Maya, will that come back haunt me? 

I guess to kind of pin down what I want to do:
-Retopo models from zbrush
-Bake maps (substance painter does this pretty well Imo)
-Prepare files for export into Substance Painter
-Rig models
-Animate models
-Anything else that is unforeseen prior to putting assets into Unity.

Can these core things be accomplished on LT? 

I'm pretty new to all of this and I'm not taking college classes, so there's no student discount for me. Sorry If this is a general question, I'm simply concerned that LT may be too LT and simply used as a hook to get people to buy full Maya (out of need).

Replies

• Krato
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Krato polygon
    Well, I came across this on the autodesk site. It compares the features between Maya and Maya LT. So there appears to be a lot of similarities between the products. Maya LT has none of the dynamic & effects and it lacks a good amount of the rendering options of the full version as well as a few other random things. I am obviously a noob with this, but I feel like It would be accurate to say a lot of those features are likely to be irrelevant for me. With my aforementioned tools (Zbrush, Substance painter, and Unity), I should be ok right?

Additionally, does anyone have any resources they would recommend for learning this program? I'm going to dig around on Gumroad and Pluralsight tonight, but if anyone has any artists or specific recommendations I'd love to know them. 
  • Dataday