Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Summer Work (Critiques Welcomed)

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
medcalfw polycounter lvl 2
Hi I am a 17 year old student trying to get better at creating game assets.
I am going to try and update this thread every day with new pieces of work I am doing this because I am current in my summer holiday where I am moving from collage to the university of Hertfordshire to study games art.
I am creating a scene in unreal that will showcase all of my summer work so I can see my own progression
Today's Creation

Replies

• trungnguyenc4fe
    17? Starting soon, aren't you? I advise you to work on something bigger or a bit more complicated next time (maybe a sword or gun?). A hammer doesn't have a lot of detail so I can't say much. The handle is too shiny, if this is a old hammer then it should be dirtier (in the corner or where it is held), and less shiny. Also the bump mark on the hammer head is too stand out, could be lighter, subtle detail. It will be nicer that way.
  • lotet
    Offline / Send Message
    lotet hero character
    Looks pretty good actually, did you make the textures yourself or are you using substance materials or something?

Did you use reference? if so, care to show? if not, FIND some and try to match it!
  • medcalfw
    Offline / Send Message
    17? Starting soon, aren't you? I advise you to work on something bigger or a bit more complicated next time (maybe a sword or gun?). A hammer doesn't have a lot of detail so I can't say much. The handle is too shiny, if this is a old hammer then it should be dirtier (in the corner or where it is held), and less shiny. Also the bump mark on the hammer head is too stand out, could be lighter, subtle detail. It will be nicer that way.