Home Technical Talk

Overlapping Meshes/Rendering

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
aniket polycounter lvl 2
Ok so this is my first time posting on this site, and so if this is the wrong place or I broke some rule, I apologize.

I am creating an open-world game with real-time combat, involving up to 10 character/enemies on screen at the same time for the PS4, think kind of like Assassin's Creed in terms of specs (polycount/texture res, etc). 
So I just have a few questions because there's a lot I don't know and because I'm making the game completely by myself, so here goes.

1. What is a good polycount for the main character, including a full armor set with some cloth and weapon? Plz specify tries or quads
2. What is a good texture resolution for different parts? The body, a single pauldron? A sword?
3. Is it okay to have armor parts as separate meshes? Would the parts of the body covered by the armor cause any issues?

Here is a screenshot of my male body (haven't done any work on face yet) with base armor parts as separate meshes (Shoulder/Bracers/Chest/Belt/Boxers/Thigh-armor/Greaves/Socks)

Replies

• Neox
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox veteran polycounter
    aniket said:
    I am creating an open-world game with real-time combat, involving up to 10 character/enemies on screen at the same time for the PS4, think kind of like Assassin's Creed in terms of specs (polycount/texture res, etc). 
    So I just have a few questions because there's a lot I don't know and because I'm making the game completely by myself, so here goes.
    I know this is possibly not what you want to read, and i totally do not want to discourage you. But maybe you should learn to walk before you can run?
    AssCreed gets produced by literally hundreds of people worldwide. It's not a task for a one man army, especially with your level of experience.