Home Career & Education

Question For Environment Pros

Hi! I'm working on my portfolio for environment art. I've been reading a lot of articles, forums, and watching videos of what companies look for in a portfolio. So since I'm aware I'll likely start as a junior artist, I'm working on a bunch of props and one fully playable environment level. I say fully playable because a lot of companies ask for that, including one that's not far from me. 
Now here's my question: If it's "fully playable", do I need to model and rig a character for it? Or can I use the default UE4 character? Because I suck at character modeling, and my computer crashes anytime I try to rig something, so.... It worries me what a company might expect.

Replies

• JordanN
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    I've never heard of fully playable being a requirement. If you're going through the effort to create a game from scratch, you might as well just appoint yourself CEO at that point, heh.   :*

Maybe they mean they want proof of real time or demonstrates it's an environment that can run on mobile/consoles/PC? Because that's far more realistic and fits within the responsibilities of someone who makes environment art. There are other jobs in the industry that specialize in modeling and rigging characters.
  • hmm_rock
    Offline / Send Message
    hmm_rock polycounter lvl 10