Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Tom

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
tom990 polycounter lvl 7

Hi guys, long time lurker here- finally posting to try and motivate myself and keep track of progress. I'm fairly new to 3d, having worked in 2d for a few years as an illustrator I'm now looking to broaden my skills and my options for the future a bit.

So to start here's a long term project I've been working on to recreate one of my favourite video game locations- the town of Suran from the game Morrowind. It's very nostalgic to me- and I really wanted to see it realised in a more "visually fulfilling" manner shall we say? I'm not going to keep exactly to the original design but rather to take the basic features and layout and then interpret the location in my own way.

Here's a picture of Suran from the original game: 

The idea is to bring Into a modern game engine (Unreal Engine 4) and along the way to learn all the necessary skills to take an asset from concept to completion and placement in the game engine, as well as the ins and outs of the engine itself.

Ok, to start here's the docks. With a little Unreal fella for scale. A textureless Red mountain is visible in the top left of the image.

Here's the bridge where a player typically enters the town for the first time- after walking through the lush fields of the Ascadian Isles. Right now it's just a box- but eventually It'll be beautiful rope bridge. That grey lump in the middle distance is placeholder for a Siltstrider.

Here's the entrance to the town. Already I've taken a few liberties with the design.

The central plaza. The bottom left building is in fact a strip club.

The temple, which I've made a little bigger and more dramatic. I almost want that Hagia Sophia on the Istanbul skyline effect- something to fix the composition of the town. Note that none of these assets are finished. Most don't have lightmaps or textures and those that do are temporary or work in progress.