Home Career & Education

Pivoting into VFX and UI

null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
HedgeMom null
Hello lovely video game peoples!

I'm an indie dev out in Seattle, and I'm looking to take the next step into the game industry. I've worked for indie games like Read Only Memories from Midboss and What Pumpkin's HiveSwap, but I'm trying to either get more steady freelance work, or just get into studio work.
Some VFX examples

I originally started out in TV production for cartoons out in Burbank and have been doing animation and art for indie devs. I've done a little bit of everything, but I'm looking to focus in on Visual Effects and UI design since it's it is more in demand and I feel within my range. 

What are the Engines, processes I should know, and is there good resources to learn them from?

-I searched thru the forums for resources and found some good stuff on the 3D VFX side, but I could use some more!
From my research it seems like Cascade is a terrific source to learn, as well as unity particles, but past those generalities, I dunno what. 

-UI is very new to me, and beyond the principles of design I don't know specifics of what makes a good portfolio, and what I should study.

-I saw almost no love for 2D VFX here on polycount, which is weird because I know there's work for it on the smaller scales! Does anyone else know how to build a strong portfolio for this?

Thanks so much for everyone's help, I hope to hear from you! 

Replies

• Kevin Albers
    Offline / Send Message
    Kevin Albers polycounter lvl 18
    fx work: Cascade.  Indie/Unity games generate very little money compared to AAA games, and for AAA games, they often use UE4 or their own engines. You can't do stuff using all sorts of propreitary engines, so Cascade for UE4 is probably the best portfolio-creating tool to use.  If you want to make non-trivial money, learn cascade for particle work.