Home Career & Education

Does a life balance exist in games career?

IgnitionChemistry
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
IgnitionChemistry polycounter lvl 5
Hi.
I've been self-teaching myself a lot of game art, mostly concept art, I've done well enough to have a few freelance work, but the more I know about this industry, the more I start to think a career in games is a bad idea?
Before this I was a graphic designer and even though I had some very busy days with a lot of work, it was nothing compared to games.

From podcasts around the web, I've seen some people actually like not having time for anything else, they like game art work so much to that point.
However, I really really like drawing and painting, but I don't think I'd replace that with girlfriend, good times camping with friends, and spending time with my family.
I'm aware I get what I put into it, and the more I practice the better I get, I'm not even trying to bail on hard work, but I don't want my life to be just waking up>drawing>go to sleep>repeat. I just want to ask to other people that have more experience, if the games industry is really this bad?

A few other bad examples:
I've had freelance clients who hired me to do work just to say they went with another freelancer, after I delivered work, so they aren't paying me anymore.
I've had offers to move overseas and work full time on game companies (some that are well known) just to a couple days later, and after follow up, they tell me they are not interested anymore and went with someone else. After they asked me to move.
Requests of photo-real, well researched gameplay solutions within 1-3 hours or within the same day.

I'm seriously thinking of going back to graphic design just so I can actually live a life after my work day, and maybe even draw for myself instead.
Anyway, thanks for reading, if you can voice your opinion, I'll be happy to hear it

Replies

• ArasTM
    Offline / Send Message
    ArasTM polycounter lvl 5
    Good question!