Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Feedback on my Portfolio

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
BlenderCube polycounter lvl 7
Looking for feedback on my portfolio: https://www.artstation.com/artist/christopherdarby
Also currently applying for Junior positions as an environment artist.

A few pieces:- 

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Looks beautiful!
  • BlenderCube
    Offline / Send Message
    No criticism? Is this not polycount? :blush:

• Michael Knubben
    Feedback on your entire portfolio is really much easier with total beginners, where there's just more to critique. Your work looks good, but if you want in-depth feedback, I think you'd be better off posting your pieces in their own thread, preferably from an early stage so people can see the progression.
    I'd also make sure to mention that (unless I'm mistaken) that castle up top is referenced from an Unreal Tournament map. On top of that, show the individual props, and wireframes!
  • Bedrock
    Offline / Send Message
    Bedrock polycounter lvl 10
    I would probably use artstation's website thingy to make a separate portfolio just for your top finished work. Looking at what I'd consider your top pieces I would say post separate polycount threads for them (not all at once perhaps) and provide references for what you are trying to achieve. 
  • BlenderCube
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok thank you both for the advice, I will look into doing this. 
  • Kid.in.the.Dark
    Offline / Send Message
    Kid.in.the.Dark polycounter lvl 6
    In general right now, the pieces as they stand have potential but I feel the only thing that really stands out to me is that they are generally a bit dull, there's not much story telling and more like a clean plated environment where it kind of says "Here's the environment" I feel you could push these pieces (all of them) to have more character... Here are some suggestions...