Home Career & Education

In the Industry, sort of... (Career path advice)

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
BrianShray polycounter lvl 4
I'll cut to the chase. 

I've been working for the same company for about 1.5yrs now, initially hired as an Assembly Artist to work on game cinematics (Light/Render/Comp)
I have some previous experience in amateur freelance Editing/MoGraph jobs, and my higher ups knew about this. 
Slowly but surely, while my team work on higher end client work, I was being isolated and given random Editing/MoGraph work to do.
This includes company demoreels for clients pitches, editing promotional videos, social media videos, making slideshows, mostly internal stuff.

I have no issues with helping out but this is not what I want to do, not the slightest. 
But they seem to like the work I do, So I find  keep falling deeper and deeper down the rabbit hole and being type cast as the editing guy.
Honestly, It is disheartening, soul-crushing, depressing,  and sucking every bit of passion I had out of me.
Literally watching as newly hired fresh grads are working on high-end client cinematics while im here editing the next Instagram video.

This has been ongoing for over a year now and I've had a number of chats with my superiors about this
But long story short, I was told that i was helping the company grow yada yada, for the good of the company yada yada. 

Believe me, I am very grateful for my job and the money is not an issue, but at the same time im extremely unhappy day in day out.
Im aware that a majority of you have had a fair share of unsatisfactory jobs, etc.  
I would like your suggestion on how you would handle this and/or if you have faced a similar situation. 

TL;DR  Hired as a 3D Artist but being typecasted as a editor/slideshow/mograph/social media guy.  

Replies

• hmm_rock
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hmm_rock polycounter lvl 10