Home Technical Talk

Questions all about Materials/Textures.

vertex
Offline / Send Message
skyboyfly vertex
I'm creating a single player only game, that is high intensive along the lines of GTA/Arma, with a 30x30 km map, and about 220 km of it actually be populated (meaning it's the land mass of the island), with 3-5 areas of it with HIGH density objects/assets. I want it to work on 4 GB computer from like 2018/2019 on lowest settings.
I don't want to hear I can't do this, I've been making and planning this out for a good 5 months now, and have about 200 different models done already (Not textured)

I'm currently using blender, UE4, Substance painter/designer, World machine, Zbrush, X-normal,  and instant meshes.

Please answer these questions as I've done thousands of hours of research, and with that seeing so many people explain it differently, I'm in the gray in some places.

1. WHich program is best to add decals in? UE4, SUbstance painter, Substance designer

2. How to optimize decals?

3. With games, whats substance painter/designer each used for? As I believe designer is for creating materials, and painter is for mapping out and applying the materials, along with adding small details by hand painting?

4. Are single textures, for EVERY object including it's alpha, bump/normal, ect better than having materials with that object/assets baked normal map ( meaning the High poly version baked on to the low-poly) If this isn't true why do most tutorials show you using textures, with that textures normal/bump/alpha/ect maps on it also?

5. With the specs mentioned how many Materials is optimal?

6. How do textures/materials have variation? meaning they look different every-where

7. How do I make materials not look the same on the same objects in UE4, meaning I duplicate a asset, and not having it look like the same version of texture as the first.

8. How can I make it to where I can make the same models look different with vartition of colors, specular, ect.