Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sc-fi Outpost

null
Hello Polycount! I've been the shadows of this site for years and finally pushed myself to just put something up here because I would really love feedback on what I could do to get better!

So for this project is for a school assignment where I have to create an architectural game ready asset in 3 weeks. So far I have made a concept sketch based on references and some initial modeling in Maya. 

I plan to use Substance Painter to do textures. The final model will be put into Unreal Engine 4.

Currently I am instancing the pillars and trying to think of making sci-fi panels modularly, However this is my first time so if anyone knows any tips on that it would be great!

Please feel free to give any comment/critique!

References:

Concept Sketch:

Model Progress:

Replies

• vzdragon
    Offline / Send Message
    vzdragon polycounter lvl 6
    nice block out, can't wait for updates
  • GreyTeddy
    Thanks vzdragon!

Its not much but I almost almost all of the elements through a 1st pass.

Still wondering about the final design for the door. And the back side of the building haha.
    Cheers!
  • GreyTeddy
    Hey guys, just another update, finally doing the high poly pieces. Having fun with the pillar and side panels here. Still unsure about the door.

Added some colors to differentiate the pieces here

More updates to come!
  • GreyTeddy
    Hey guys! Just another update, final finished with the high poly. Not really sure about the monitor and the door(design wise), but I will proceed with creating a low poly to bake normals down to. Cheers!

• GreyTeddy
    Hey guys, sorry I have not updated in a while, I was crunching because I was having trouble with baking normal maps. But they are okay now! I rush the texturing, and just dropped it into UE4 for some quick lighting, but this is what I have so far. 

Some critique I received were:
    -Blown out colors (Too saturated)
    -Rust is kind of just there