Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Zimuus POV Animation Thread

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Zimuus polycounter lvl 3
I have been practising 3D for a little bit now (I had a good amount of experience in 2D animation before it) but being self-taught I don't really have many sources of feedback. Hopefully this is the right place for me :)

Here is an ordered list, oldest to newest:
MP40
AR15
Doom Double Barrel

Replies

• Arturow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Arturow polycounter
    Hello Zimuus!

Nice animations! the only thing that I see is that they are a little slow. The time it takes to reload is too much talking about gameplay but if you wanted to have that realism is perfect I think :) just my opinion

And because they are a little slow they lack that force/punch/strength you see in the typical FPS game.
    Awesome work :)

Here is an example from call of duty :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3D_ugbFUnZ0

• Zimuus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zimuus polycounter lvl 3
    Thank you! I am always finding myself making them too slow, do you think that simply just speeding up the rendered clip would be effective or is it something I have to do while animating it?
  • Arturow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Arturow polycounter
    Honestly I don't know lol , never did a reload animation in fps :P but you could try to see how it looks speeding it up :)! good luck!
  • Rmunday
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rmunday polycounter lvl 9
    As others have said they could do with been sped up. Realism is possible, slow methodical reloads but a lot more movement is needed to sell it. I would recommend "MrBrightSide" on Youtube. He does live streams of him animating FPS anims, I picked up a lot of tricks watching his stuff. He works almost solely in the graph editor but do whatever is comfortable with you.