Home Career & Education

2-5 years Experiance? From where?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Y-NOT486 polycounter lvl 5

Hi everyone, I thought I'd raise an age old question and hopefully find some answers.

I am a 3D modeler for both Environment and Prop Art, I graduated with a Bachelor's Degree in Game Art and Design From AICAOC in the spring of 2015. From the moment the portfolio show had ended I've constantly applied to every studio on the west coast and have yet to even get as far an interview before receiving a pre-written rejection letter saying they are considering more qualified candidates. One thing I've noticed is almost every position notes a requirement of 2-5 years of experience, meaning an unexperienced applicant like me is not even being considered?

So I ask, where on Earth are people finding that 2-5 years of experience if they're not hirable without it? Clearly the industry isn't cloning their artists in labs to refill their ranks as people retire or move on to other studios, so how do they maintain a workforce of only experienced individuals without creating any?

Replies

• beefaroni
    Offline / Send Message
    beefaroni sublime tool
    Portfolio, not experience.

If you're not getting through your portfolio is unfortunately not quite there.

Here is a portfolio from a friend that I would consider "entry-level". After he finished his sci-fi scene he was able to land a position at a great studio.
    https://www.artstation.com/artist/richardrude
  • Y-NOT486
    Offline / Send Message

Wow, That's some impressive work. If that's considered entry level, then I might have a few harsh words for my Art school because my portfolio (the one they approved based on "industry standards") doesn't have a prayer.

http://www.amerola3d.com/

• JordanN
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator