Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Here be Dragons - a space explorer

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
AlexJudeScott polycounter lvl 3
Hi Polycount

I really need to do a better job of engaging with this forum, so with that in mind, I'm going to do a WIP thread for my current project.

Here be Dragons is inspired by the euphoric sense of wonder from exploring, and discovering something new and alien, out in the vastness of space. Basically the idea of games like No Man's Sky and Elite: Dangerous, rather than how they actually play out.

I'm going for realism (anatomically at least, not too concerned if NASA says the suit isn't viable), rendered in marmoset with her floating in space, surrounded by nebulas, that may or may not look like dragons.

Started with the above sketch I did ages ago, fleshed it out a bit more. 

I am a really terrible concept artist; this took me forever. Next step colour studies!

Replies

• AlexJudeScott
    Offline / Send Message
    Some colour experiments, all super bright and punchy. Don't know how I feel about any of these yet. I'm going start zbrush work, where I'm more comfortable.
  • CybranM
    Offline / Send Message
    CybranM interpolator
    First image looks like a non-buff zarya :smile:

I like the upper middle concept from the grayscale image but the pants feel too much like scuba-gear imho.
    I like the idea of the popped collar (or whatever you call it) on the jacket, its juxtaposition with the utilitarian nature of most space suits. It does make it feel more like a wealthy tourist than a rugged explorer though.
  • AlexJudeScott
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks @CybranM . Yeah, I'm looking more at fashion, than practical space suits. Might just imply that all the life support tech is inside the helmet, but not sure yet, don't want it to look Batman open face mask ridiculous. 

Anatomy modelling blocked in: