Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Animated 2D Portraits [gif heavy]

ADR
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
ADR polycounter lvl 5
Heya, first time posting! I've been somewhat of a lurker but in an effort to get in contact with other artists who have similar interests, decided to post my work!

Wasn't sure where to put this, but I feel it's more related to 2D art rather then animation. But feel free to move my thread if you disagree.

I'm an Illustrator with a big interest in games and animation, and two years ago I taught myself how to use Live2D Cubism for my indie game project Herald: An Interactive Period Drama. I made about 13 models like this for the game with varying degrees of detail in mobility. I wouldn't call myself an animator but I also animated these.

This is how it looks in game while being controlled by a dialogue system. You can check the game here for those curious: http://store.steampowered.com/app/380810

Here's something I've been working on in my spare time to challenge myself. This one can move from left to right and look up and down. I am also playing with limbs on this one.

Needless to say, I've fallen in love with the program and want to continue working with it! I don't have any experience with Spine, but I think more control over the texture is possible with Live2D Cubism. It's a lot more artist friendly then techniques like putting 2D textures on 3D meshes and achieving the 2.5D look that way.

Unfortunately, since it's a Japanese program, I don't know many western artists who have picked it up yet. But recently Ubisoft released a mobile game called "City of Love: Paris" that uses the same software.

To cut my ramble short, I'd love to get in contact with any artists working on similar detailed 2.5D models professionaly!

Replies

• Elithenia
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Elithenia polycounter
    I've never heard of this program, but I really like your art :) 
  • trezzinator
    Options
    Offline / Send Message