Home Career & Education

How long did it take for you to make a living in the 3D industry?

Hi! I would like to open a thread aimed to all 3d professionals (in any field) that make a living in this industry (in any way, not only selling models in marketplaces). Especially I would like to know how much time passed since you started your formation as artists, designers, architects, etc, I mean, not in 3d, but since you began to acquire an artistic or technical base in any field (either academically or self-taught), and the moment that you started to make a living in the 3d industry. The thing is that I have read a lot of similar threads (asking how much time needed to master 3d, etc), but I have never seen one that raises the subject this way, and because of that I would like all those who want tell your story here (a brief summary of it, of course).  

PD: I would also appreciate it if you share any link to any thread very similar to this one (if you know someone:-)

Replies

• beefaroni
  • sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range

Hmm...I see you've posted the same thread on another forum I've a long held membership with, that basically caters to the CGI Film/TV VFX sector of the entertainment industry. I'll suggest if you like, running a search on their GD board there are a number of relevant discussions on the subject. 

As for myself, my primary skillset falls into the self taught hardsurface modeller a.k.a "poly-pushing grunt" category or a more likely term I guess considering my scope of interest you could say - CG Generalist?!... To be clear I don't necessarily make my living working 9 to 5 doing this stuff however in the last 18mth period alone I've managed really by pure chance securing a client who seems to be impressed with what I'm into. As a consequence prepared to pay quite handsomely, enough in fact that I'm obligated by law filing an extensive tax return this fiscal year, yaaay...NOT!