Home Career & Education

How should I Practice Art as a 15 year old?

Zalonio
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Zalonio null
Hello! For some background: I'm a student (recently turned 15 years old) in Ontario who just joined high school grade 9 nearly 6 months ago. After just becoming really fascinated by Artstation work, I decided, about 8 months ago, that I wanted to work to become a professional artist (currently interested in both 2D and 3D) and get that dream job. Why? I just love analyzing creative work, and hope that when I pursue the same path, I could make the amazing work myself. 

But to get the point, I am asking: how exactly should I be practicing all day at my age?

(And when I ask how, I really emphasize: how?)

I know this might be a really general, dumb question, but it is a question I ask myself daily when I feel lost. I look at other professionals, and wonder how their daily practice as a 15-year-old compares to mine. How they managed all the assignments, how they knew what art resources to look at, and how exactly they would go about their days when just arriving from school. 

In my life, the routine for me is c
oming home from school every day to return to my same old desk, occasionally taking out my sketchbook to draw or view a Maya tutorial for 5-10 minutes. This cycle repeats every day, and I began to feel lost as to what I should do every day to become someone as skilled as one of the professionals I see. (Like Finnian Macmanus, someone I read about who was incredibly skillful at the age of 16.)  So I ponder:

Did all the other professional artists, at my age, just occasionally pull out their sketchbooks after coming home from school? 
"What exactly would they do when returning home to teach themselves art? After accomplishing something, how did they know what to do next? (like build a gun, for example?) Exactly how much effort did they put in every day?"