Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Stylised Goatman Tribe

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
gastrop0d polycounter lvl 5
Hi all, I'm a complete beginner modeller and have been working on a character set for the last few weeks.

It's a stylised goat man model for use in top-down viewed games such as RPGs, ARPGs, RTSs or MOBAs.

My goals are clarity and readability of what the characters are (goat people) and what they do (skirmisher throws spears, warrior charges in with axe, shaman casts spells). So I've avoided any fine-grained or noisy detail.

I've attempted a stylised proportion of about 4.5 heads tall, so that things don't look too spindly at the far camera distance. I want a chunky, almost toy-like feeling to the proportions.

The characters are about 2000 tris with their equipment, though the shaman has more.

Modelled & sculpted in Blender, textured in Substance Painter, rendered in Unity3D (is there an easy way to render PBR in Blender?).

This is the first character model I've ever really put together, so I would love any feedback you have!

Replies

• Krato
    Offline / Send Message
    Krato polygon
    These looks pretty good! 

I wish I could give some sort of critique here but I'm not seeing anything wrong. I think it's impressive that you made an organic model on blender, making organic models on anything but zbrush (at least at this time) makes me want to smash my head into a wall. Kudos!
  • Krato
    Offline / Send Message
    Krato polygon
    actually, I may not be able to give any 3D modeling advice, but perhaps you could touch up the painted areas on the body that have a slight red color to them, for example the area near the between the clavicle, the skin along the hairline, or the bicep area approaching the metal wrist guards.  It's purely cosmetic but i think it would be a nice change. I think the hands are well done regarding the different colors though!
  • JunkieKong
    Offline / Send Message
    JunkieKong greentooth