Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[wip] Rat monster - need advices/help

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Elzean polycounter lvl 3
Here is a monster i'm working on for a game project (http://www.indiedb.com/games/rogue-fantasy), i have very little experience in character sculpting/modeling (did 2 other sculpts in blender that were not humanoid). Feedback is welcome, i'm trying to have something a bit stylized, like overwatch (not that i can do anything as good...) We are only 2 working on the project for moment and sadly we don't have a dedicated artist :p

I have a few questions about his hairs, i was sculpting all the smaller hair directly on him because it's fast and fell more blended all together. Now i want to add optional long piece of hairs, like having the option to have different hair styles.

So i'm starting to make those large piece (here on top of his body) using some curves, this would also give me the option to hide those hair if i were to add cloth on them (so hair doesnt pass through). I would make a low poly of those hairs as a separate piece.
They look different though, is this shocking to you ?  Should i do it differently ? Should i use those curves for other smaller hairs on his body ?
Do you think of any issue i could have making the low poly of this creature ?

Replies

• Elzean
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Elzean polycounter lvl 3
    Here is another view angle on his hairs:

• Elzean
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Elzean polycounter lvl 3
    Since i go stylized and i dont want to spent too much time with making his fur looks good / not gooey im experimenting with another style:

Its not finished mostly worked on top parts, but let me know how you feel about this change :smile:
  • Elzean
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Elzean polycounter lvl 3
    This will be last iteration on the sculpting i think, he will have cloth later:

• kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage