Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

How can I improve on skills when it comes to drawing landscapes, seascapes etc.

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Trill_Clinton polycounter lvl 5
Hiya , I am an art student working towards hopefully becoming a concept artist one day. when it comes to general drawing and perspective I feel very comfortable when it comes to drawing figures and isolated objects and props such as vehicles and props etc. My main weakness has always been drawing environments and landscapes. After having a review on my course today I recently now feel like I must learn to tackle this area of weakness so I have come here today to ask for any sort of advice when it comes to drawing environments and scenes. Any sort of exercise or resource that could be recommended will be very very welcomed and appreciated.I find when I attempt to draw environments especially from imagination i tend to find I draw in a perspective grid either 1 or 2 point and then all of a sudden my mind goes blank and I struggle to read the grid I have layed in. I cant tell if this is from having a lack of a visual library of environments/ landscapes to draw from and if so how would i tackle this problem. Attached to this thread I am attaching a few environment thumbnails I have produced recently just to gauge my sort of skill right now when it comes to drawing environments.

Replies

• lotet
    Offline / Send Message
    lotet hero character
    your thumbnails are pretty good, I dont see any major issues tbh. If you feel like you struggle its probably in the stages ahead.
  • Trill_Clinton
    Offline / Send Message
    What would these stages ahead consist of because i honestly get to this stage and I don't know how to take them even further. Thank you for replying btw I always see your name on these forums and I really appreciate your involvement here :) 
  • lotet
    Offline / Send Message
    lotet hero character
    oh now you make me feel all special :P