Home Career & Education

How do you develop artistic taste? Is it even possible?

unit187
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
unit187 polycounter lvl 9
I work as a level designer, and the longer I work in the industry, the more skill is expected from me, obviously. Lately I've been seeing that I clearly don't have good enough sense for aethetics and design. A number of level designers I work with and of course concept artists seem to have some natural talent to this: they see how colors work together better than me, they set up better compositions in environments, they have more interesting shapes and rhythm in their work, they seem to have much easier time finding solutions to creative problems at hand. Of course, a lot of it comes from experience, and I don't want to downplay all that time spent practicing, but it still feels like they have something I don't.

My technical knowledge is solid for senior level designer; in fact I work as one. Finding solutions to technical issues was always easier for me and I totally deliver everything that is expected from me and even more. However I am having really hard time at my job at a top gamedev corp in my country, because I can't solve creative problems fast enough and good enough without asking way too much input from our art director. 

I often get told something along the lines of "this color doesn't really work in the environment". But how am I supposed to fix this if I just can't see that it doesn't work! When the art director comes and does overpaint, for instance, the image clearly looks better, but I still can't understand why and how can I come with solution to such problems myself. Same goes with composition and the worst of all - rhytm, which is sooo abstract.