Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Alleyway Crime Scene [UE4]

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
jwills polycounter lvl 8
Hey guys!

I'm starting my new environment project based on an Alleyway Crime scene, showcased through UE4 and using a bunch of reference images and some concept art below to drive the direction.

There's a few things I'm really trying to focus on throughout this project:
1. Scene composition.
2. Telling the story of the scene/game through lighting and assets.
3. Use Substance designer to help me get to grips with the software.
4. Not over doing my textures. My main feedback from previous projects was pushing my texturing too far resulting in messy and noisy normal maps.

I've done a bit of work so far over the last couple of days such as block out and starting to work on a few wall sections. Im pretty new to Substance Designer so if anyone has any Crit's at all about any of my work please comment it and I'll try my best to push the scene further and fix issues :)

Maya Blockout:
UE4 Progress:

Substance Mats:
Tarmac:

Brick:

Replies

• snakos
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    snakos polycounter lvl 8
    The dramatic side of a crime scene is indeed a good choice for lighting practice. Do your best on it !

For the materials, i think it is a good start. The brick wall is really good, the shape of the bricks and colors are very nice. As it is a dramatic scene it will probably be better to have more dirt on the tarmac and also on the cement part of the brick wall.
    Maybe it is not the kind of wall you want but i found this ref:
    http://bgfons.com/upload/brick_texture3334.jpg

• FreneticPonies
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    FreneticPonies polycounter lvl 3
    Brick looks awesome! Keep going, looking forward to more.
  • gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message