Home Technical Talk

Is 3d Coat worth it?

VividSombre
vertex
Offline / Send Message
VividSombre vertex
In couple of weeks I will do a big project that will last for a year or more, making a game all by myself. I've been learning 3D for 5 years on and off with Blender. It's my only 3D software I ever used, and I know that there's way better softwares than this one, because Blender is basically a mix of everything but not really good at something, except maybe modeling because of his shortcuts.

I will have around $1800 and I need softwares that won't cost me too much and that will do the job, For texturing, UV mapping, retopology, animation, and modeling. What I had in mind was to buy 3d Coat and Substance Designer, I tried 3d Coat's trial and I do like it so far. When I looked on youtube for timelapses or tutorials, or simply renders on google, there's barely something, why? When I go check on forums and do research about the software what people think about it, I don't find anything. So now I'm not as confident and fear to do a mistake to buy it. The game will run on Unreal Engine 4 and I thought that Substance Designer would be a good choice to tweak my textures.

What do you guys think? 

Replies

• bounchfx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bounchfx mod
    I think some people might disagree with you about Blender, haha. Personally I love 3D Coat but I use it exclusively for projection texture painting. And if you have animation needs, I do not believe the program can do that (I could be wrong). It's not a very widely used program so any technical snags you run into might wind up taking more time to solve than other 3D apps.

For that budget, you might look into either an Indie version of Modo or Maya LT. Both are fairly affordable, and have more documentation readily available.
  • VividSombre
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    VividSombre vertex