Home Career & Education

Depressed artist, anyone experiencing this?

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
ArcaneLeo polycounter lvl 2
hi guys, im on my lowest point of my life, im a generalist 3d artist student
im focusing my work on character artist and environtment artist
there a lot of work to create one character or one asset especialy if that asset was sculpted
,and there a lot of tedious work

retopology, uv map, creating hair plane, creating proper texture, baking
each of those workflow did give headache and must have proper planning from the start
(i do know the workflow, so im not a newbie to this workflow)

sometime im kinda depressed with the workflow, especialy retopology and baking,
now im creating thesis, and well it kinda depressed work with many of asset alone and tight deadline
, and when i think i finish my stuff, there always a thing that didnt smooth as i planned

did everybody on the industry experienced a same stuff?, not that im complaining,
but yeah im really depressed with the amount of work
you can throw away your time 3 month or even a year but the progress was really slow,
im work everyday , 16 hour for my thesis, im skipping all holiday and work, work and always work
its like, im wake up, then eat and work 16 hour, then sleep, but its didn't come with reward

its like im a horrible artist and not improving

what the thing that keep you motivated and finished your work?

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What helps me is to see the goodness in each little action.

I have been a professional game artist for more than 20 years, and I am still not as good at art as I would like.

Getting good is not a goal but a process. Learn to love the process itself.

And take breaks. I improve the most after breaks.
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • ArcaneLeo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thanks for the word,somehow it give me motivation