Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Personal project: Spider Mech / Rocky Wasteland game

polycount sponsor
Offline / Send Message
Kashaar polycount sponsor
Hi everyone!

Since I found myself without any jobs lined up for the first time in ages last week, I decided to finally take some time for a bit of personal work. Feels good, man! I'm not very experienced with this whole modeling thing, since most of the time I'm more engaged on the programming side of things, but I want to use this to test myself a bit and create an entire small-scope game project on my own. I've done a fair few gamejams in the past, so I know that there are no particular areas I can't cover myself (besides perhaps sound design, but that's what licensed sounds are for) - and one explicit aim of this project is to let me do my own thing without compromises, as a change of pace from how I usually get to work. The other is to provide me with a sandbox to experiment with cool weapon and explosion VFX ;-)

Latest state:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KZUgCzM1LKA

This is all being made in UE4, and I'll be making liberal use of UE4 marketplace assets where appropriate (and will of course be labeling respective bits as such). In the screenshot above, the sky is from an HDR sky pack by the inimitable @Joost, and the detail normal on the sand is from Substance Share, by Käy Vriend

Environment

Let's start with the map. I experimented with world machine for a fair amount of time, and  ended up with a nice, doubly-eroded 8k heightmap with warped terraces that I really liked. Lighting here is fully dynamic, with some light postprocessing to add a bit more vignette and grain. No LUT or color adjustments in post yet.

World Machine graph:

Here's a walkthrough of the steps taken to get to the final heightmap:

Wip shots within:

[spoiler]