Home Technical Talk

Noob modeller needs some advice :P

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
randygootjes polycounter lvl 3
Hi i am a graphic designer, started using zbrush a couple years ago for fun, now i want to get into more game assets or game modelling, but i need some good advice.

i am using zbrush for my models, and i can pretty much handle cinema 4d. My questions are:
  1. can i use zbrush for retopo? or is it better to use a different application?
  2. what are the best steps i can apply for my workflow?
you would be of great help guys... !

Replies

• CharacterCarl
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CharacterCarl greentooth
    1. I've seen artists use ZBrush to create the low poly geometry of a game character using mostly ZSphere retopology. Personally, I think ZBrush's retopo tools (ZSpheres and Topology brush) are a good option for cleaning up individual parts or retopo-ing smaller meshes but for everything more complex I prefer either Maya Quad Draw or MODO which I use for all my low poly needs. This also makes smoothing/relaxing your meshes much easier as you can move your topology around as you're working on it which isn't as easy in ZBrush.

2. This is a rather vague question as you didn't provide much information about your actual workflow (only the software you use). But, as you're looking into creating game assets, here is some advice:

In general, you should be very familiar with the high to low poly workflow (baking properly). Knowing how to avoid artefacts, waviness, etc. will save you a lot of trouble. Check the wiki and the sticky threads for valuable information: http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Texture_Baking

Look at actual game models to study their topology and texture layouts. I tend look at models that have been ported to Source Filmmaker for example, as it comes with a model viewer. Also, often times artists put up wireframes when posting portfolio pieces.