Home Technical Talk

How The F*#% Do I Model This? - Reply for help with specific shapes - (Post attempt before asking)

Replies

• RustySpannerz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RustySpannerz polycounter lvl 13
    Great thread! This is my first time here, and it's been such a help! I'm trying to get better at high poly modelling because I've never really spent much time doing it. I'm building up my portfolio just now, and my modelling kind of suffers. 

So this model I'm working on right now, has these vents on the end of a cylinder. I realize I could do them as floaters, but I really want to get better at modelling. How is this poly flow looking so far? Is there something I'm not doing that's really obvious? I haven't really touched the bit at the right, so that's a bit of a mess. 

Thanks in advance for any advice you guys can give! 
  • WaYWO
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    WaYWO greentooth
    Dude, the corner thing for cylinder is simple. Do a 45 degree cut with Multi-Cut Tool , and extrude the new set of edges created by the cut. Simple.
  • gfelton
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    gfelton polycounter lvl 6
    Great thread! This is my first time here, and it's been such a help! I'm trying to get better at high poly modelling because I've never really spent much time doing it. I'm building up my portfolio just now, and my modelling kind of suffers. 

So this model I'm working on right now, has these vents on the end of a cylinder. I realize I could do them as floaters, but I really want to get better at modelling. How is this poly flow looking so far? Is there something I'm not doing that's really obvious? I haven't really touched the bit at the right, so that's a bit of a mess. 

Thanks in advance for any advice you guys can give! 
    It would be helpful if you provided more angles of the problem area. Also, those triangles that aren't on a flat surface need to be resolved
  • RustySpannerz
    Options