Home General Discussion

Best way for a self-taught Blender/Maya modeler to get into the industry?

Hi all!

For the past 2 years in my own time, I've self-taught from Youtube and forums all around the internet. I feel like I'm at a point where I want 'work' to build my own experience whether that be paid or unpaid. But I'm unclear where to go or where to start.

At the start of this year I started a general ICT degree for 6 months (programming and server management ect) I hated it moved on. Now I'm at a private institution I'm 3 weeks into the course and I feel like 90% of the time I'm teaching the tutor the institution is badly organized has poor facilities and $17,000 for 6 months. All of that has led me to the decision today that I would not be completing my studies there.

So I'm stuck. I've got all my own personal experience that I feel like amount to nothing as job listings (in Australia at least) all say that I must complete some sort of studies. I understand that by completing studies it gives the employer greater background into the individual their hiring. But I feel as though there is little point for me to complete studies when I could just go freelance and prove my own abilities to an employer through a great portfolio.

So I guess I'm asking for advice on where I should go and to what I should do.

Here are some pictures of work I've completed.

Mailbox (Maya - Renderman)

Forest Scene (Blender Cycles render engine)

Snow Scene (Blender Cycles render engine)

Replies

• Joost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joost polycount sponsor
    Work on an indie game. Whether you start your own project or join an existing one. I know people frown upon working for free, but as a beginner, it's a great way to get relevant production experience and create some more portfolio art as well. And of course, there's the potential of being part of a successful indie game.
  • CursiveCardinal
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joost said: