Home General Discussion

looking for a career advice

monkey_T
null
Offline / Send Message
monkey_T null
Hello. 
I am a software programmer, but i always wanted to work in something that involves some creativity. not even sure what, anything that involves manipulating shape and color, basically.
also game development is something i just started exploring and i find very exciting. 
this is some of the stuff i have done so far.  https://www.behance.net/odedwolff
i hope this doesn't disturb your eyes too much. i obviously i have so much to learn, so i was playing with the idea to take half a year off (i have saved some money), and work intensively on my skills. i am mostly self taught, maybe i'd take some courses, but not a full study program. 
 would it be realistic to train myself in 6 months to be able to apply to any entry level job in graphics, design or game dev? or maybe i am being very naive, given there are many arts and design graduates that are having hard time finding employment?
i appreciate your advice and tips  

Replies

• Jakob Gavelli
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jakob Gavelli interpolator
    Heya @monkey_T
    I think programming is one of the most creative jobs there is, so don't put yourself down man ^^ Anything that requires problem solving over such a broad area is super creative. I have a very bad grasp when it comes to programming for games, but that sounds like a better option than doing a full 180 and become someone who does Art for a living. 

I think it would be great, if not necessary, to have a programmer on the team that can also do a bit of art or atleast understand the whole workflow. Same goes for artists who should know some basic scripting imo! That said I don't think 6 months seems realistic for where you're at at the moment. Here's my portfolio with which I started looking for jobs : https://jakobgavelli.carbonmade.com/