Home General Discussion

Will I get work VISA without any experience ? Is it possible? need help.

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
kunalht polycounter lvl 2
Hey guys. So I had asked this type of question here before but at that time I wasn't sure about somethings. 
I am a computer science student in India and after 1 year I'll finish my course and get a CS degree. After that I want to work as a level designer. Now I want to work in any studio based in canada/USA . But will I be able to do that? Will any studio hire me if I don't have any work experience ?
so does companies hire people from another country if they don't have any work experience ? 
I've been learning to create games and design it from last 1-2 years and I still have 1 year. So I can learn and create things and create good portfolio in that time. 
I was thinking maybe after this if I can't get a job I'll apply for any 1 year game/level design course in those countries but that'll be costly for international students and I want to learn myself. But what should I do? 
Also if I were to start applying , when and where should I start for that ? Like I'll finish my course in maybe april 2017. So when should I start applying? How much time does it takes for the whole process (including VISA)? where should I apply? What other things I should do ? I'll have a computer science degree by then and I heard that having a degree helps getting VISA.

Thank you.

Replies

• skankerzero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This is a brain dump. Sorry if it seems a bit random:

The main thing to remember is you have to prove you're better than the local talent. You have to give the foreign studio a reason to hire you. They incur a cost to help get you a visa and you will have to pay attorney costs as well if you want things to go smoothly.