Home General Discussion

How did Pros become Pros? (Directed (mostly) towards 3D Modelers / Texture Artists)

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
ftsmith polycounter lvl 6
I just recently graduated college and ready to move on to the next step of my life by getting a job (hopefully) and on my quest to move on I found my self astonished by the skills and techniques of other artists. I'm almost intimidated browsing through Artstation and through the forums, because majority of the work there far surpasses my own. Eventually I want my own work to be on par if not above the professionals and skillful individuals, so I was wondering how did the industry all-stars and professionals get to the point where they are now? What tutorials were they using, what were they doing for practice, what kind of workflow do they have, how did they get into the industry? Any kind of information would be helpful.

I'm a 3D modeler/ Texture artist so any information related to those fields would be nice.

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    We've been collecting just this kind of info here on our wiki.
    http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Game_Industry
  • MissMaddyTaylor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MissMaddyTaylor greentooth
    I'm not sure what kind of texture artist you are (hand-painted, next gen, etc.) but I have a journal that I wrote and update every once in a while with my journey. Feel free to check it out :) 

http://missmaddytaylor.deviantart.com/journal/If-you-want-to-do-art-Then-DO-it-already-220633379

Edit: I think I read through your post too fast - my link is a little more personal than tips but I do have some tips on my DA as well. ^^ http://missmaddytaylor.deviantart.com/journal/Maddy-s-Tips-Building-a-Strong-Portfolio-438342704
  • ftsmith
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks, I'll definitely read through your stuff.
  • PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter