Home General Discussion

Software Investment?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Oblivion2500 polycounter lvl 6
Hi all, I haven't been on polycount forums for a long time. I recently graduated from school back in December. I'm going to be attending the graduation ceremony next week and get my diploma. My major is in 3D Digital Design for games. I'm a environment artist / texture artist with strong interest in game design as well. I need to work on my portfolio and start a new project to showcase my skills before applying for jobs. I haven't had any chance to apply for jobs or work on my portfolio in the past 5 months. I plan on working on my portfolio this summer. I realize that my student license of Maya 2016 and 3ds Max 2016/2017 may end. I know they cost $1k per year which is too much for me and my parents can't afford that for me. What should I do about this? I don't have any adobe software either. I used them at school computers to use photoshop. I hate using blender and gimp. It cost $600 for adobe cc and it's kind of tough getting that kind of money for investment. Should I figure out a way to get Adobe CC and maybe Maya LT on steam? What is your opinion on maya LT? Is it any good? I keep getting mixed reviews on it.

It's kind of stupid how I lose access to these essential software after graduating and then I can't work on portfolio on my free time unless I throw like $3K for software I need (Maya, ZBrush, Adobe CC). I understand it's a investment. What should I do?

Replies

• AtticusMars
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AtticusMars greentooth
    Why do you need Adobe CC? Just get Photoshop CC in the digital photography package for $10/month.

No opinion on Maya LT, Modo Indie and Blender are both reasonable alternatives though.

• bounchfx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bounchfx mod