Home General Discussion

Question about SperaSoft, working in Russia

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Rurouni Strife polycounter lvl 10
Hi all. I've been freelancing for 2 years now and I'm at the point where in addition to looking for new clients, I'm also looking to get back into a studio. I was recently on the phone with an external recruiter/headhunter about opportunities. There's another topic I'll probably ask about later from this same conversation. Anyway, she mentioned and pushed SperaSoft. I looked into them and they seem huge, legit, and honestly kinda cool. My interest is peaked. 

However, the positions (9 month contracts) they are hiring for are all in St. Petersberg, Russia. 

My question is for anyone who's worked out Russia...How big of a transition is it? How does banking work? Am I taxed on my earnings in the US as well? Do they pay in dollars (So 70K USD = like 4 million rubles)? How does that all work?

Thanks!

Replies

• alekseypindrus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    alekseypindrus polycounter lvl 10
    I think noone will answer such questions because of NDA and lack of people who worked in such conditions.
    You should ask Sperasoft staff directly. They are indeed huge & legit, can't say about cool — didn't worked there.
    I think they are our biggest gamedev outsource company.

First of all, do you speak russian? If not, you will not be able to live here comfortably. Not so much people know english especially in places like stores and so on.

And it will be even harder to find yourself a place to live in. I'm not sure you will be able to do it without help from company who hired you. Again, language barrier.

Banking: usually companies in Russia have a contract with bank, it will issue a plastic card for you and you will be paid directly to it with russian roubles only.