Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Feedback??

vertex
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
HantoH vertex
Hello..
My name is Anthony. I'm an Irish 3d character/game artist and Illustrator. But I'm finding it hard to find paid work in the game industry or even any kind of 3d paid work. I can't afford to work for nothing and I was wondering if I could get some feedback or a critique of my work from somebody experienced in the game industry. I feel I need some advise as I'm kind of losing hope.

This is my showreel  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F1OcnjDSRcY

Thank you in advance.. :smile: 

Replies

• Seraphinn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Seraphinn polycounter lvl 4
    I can throw my 2 cents into the ring here but obviously there are far more experienced people out there to hopefully give you feedback.

1. I would drastically change the font of your titles, at times its hard to read and the lime green background makes life worse.

2. The illustration work is great, but I would think a picture portfolio with nice big high res images would better suit than a quick pan down/up.

3. Your character designs are cool, showcase them a bit more, do some nice sheets, with back/side/front view with a nice posed concept. Again ideally in a picture portfolio rather than video, as the panning doesnt give you the whole image.

4.  3D Work - The cube on its own gives no indication of its environment or purpose - the textures need a boost aswell but without an environment or setting I cant really say i.e. Frozen future base - add some snow on top or ice, add some scuff marks scratches. It spins wayyyyy too fast too. Also if its a storage crate - why no opening/locking mechanism?

5. The guys walk cycle needs some work its way to fast and frozen like hes limbs are stiff, add in a nice strut to fit the characters personality

6. The motorbike could use some textures, if it was a high poly it could probably survive without, but lowpoly without any texture info, I would remove