Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Subtance works

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
Vincent_DEROZIER greentooth
Latest Update 

Hi Everyone !
I will try to keep working my Substance Designer skill regulary.

Here is my first material since a while, a Bark texture, what did you guys think about it ?

Replies

• 3dReaper
    Offline / Send Message
    3dReaper polycounter lvl 4
    Good start, but I think it is overtly shiny. Bark is not particularly shiny, unless this is supposed to be lacquered?

Also, never render with a black background, use a grey, blue-grey, or a blue tone.

If you use the metalness workflow you don't need to show the metalness texture flat for a non-metal material, at least that is my thought. Especially considering we could see 25% of the other textures instead.
  • Vincent_DEROZIER
    Offline / Send Message
    Agree ! I always make everything too much shiny fearing that no one will see the fresnel on the surface .

It's my first attempt with the metalness workflow it's true that the metalness map is useless to show.

• Vincent_DEROZIER
    Offline / Send Message
    Done

Let's go to the next.
  • Vincent_DEROZIER
    Offline / Send Message
    Still very WIP.

• DanielR17
    Offline / Send Message
    DanielR17 polycounter lvl 7
    Hey Vincent,
    Your graph is simple, yet you already have a good result for a WIP (the stone floor). I'll follow this thread with great interest.

Sympa de voir un compatriote ici !
  • Micaki
    Offline / Send Message
    Micaki polycounter lvl 3
    Thats a nice tree bark, imo rounded cube or cylinder will show the material better. Also what you want to show with small screen of your graph? Thats not saying much about your substance. Looking forward to your next works
  • Vincent_DEROZIER
    Offline / Send Message
    finally finish it .

DanielR17 >>> Yes I always try to keep my substance graph simple for my mental health . Et oui c'est sympa de croiser des compatriotes !!