Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Critique?

LuminousBoy
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
LuminousBoy polycounter lvl 2
Hey everyone, I'm fairly new to the gaming industry, looking for work as a concept artist (really anything in the 2d art department). I'm really gunning for an in-house job somewhere but i have little experience. I've got a little bit of experience but I need to figure out how to better tailor my work to game design.

In any case I'm really trying to nail down what I need to do in order to lock up an in house job and any advice would be really appreciated. My portfolio is here https://luminousboy.carbonmade.com/.

Thanks for your time guys

Replies

• mannygill99
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mannygill99 polycounter lvl 3
    Wow! just wow is all i have to say .. best portfolio ive seen this far... Ive only took a look at a few portfolios though
  • Benwiddowson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Benwiddowson polycounter lvl 2
    yup, i love your stuff man. Wish i could help you on the getting a job part, i am in the same boat. Essentially, some things i see that are missing from your work are finished environments and full color, full body, finished characters. You've got all the skills, but try doing a few characters with explorations of color, texture, and detail. For environments, just do a few more like your sunset one. I would also recommend doing more technical pieces, like weapons or props!

The other thing to do is get out there and start making accounts on every art site and forum on the net! make sure you get seen!
  • Popol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Popol interpolator
    Hey, your illustrations are gorgeous!

If you want to work in the video game industry, what's missing in your portfolio are actual concept arts. Something precise that the 3D modelers can actually use, where there is no guessing games. Something like this :