Home General Discussion

Portfolio and hiring: does the toolbelt matter?

armagon
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
armagon polycounter lvl 11
Most artists that i know use Max or Maya. They are successful environment artists that have good jobs in nice companies and this is something that i've been looking for myself. I've been a programmer and now i'm aiming for technical artist positions. I want to make a change in my carrer. Those artists that i known have recommended me either Max or Maya, as well a Digital Tutors subscription and a great "Just do it".

So far, so great. But i've been hating Max and Maya. The workflow seems cumbersome and repetitive. And it does not free you creatively. Being a programmer, i get headaches just about thinking on repetitive tasks. For example, creating a weapon can be fun, but 60% of the job of modelling that gun is a shitload of repetitive tasks and just plain boring "connect the dots".

Being a programmer, i have searched for a tool that allowed me to be more dynamic and, also for being a programmer, i'm passionate about open-source software. I have decided to start with Blender and Sculptris. Blender API is great: i can automate most boring stuff with Python and it's much more powerful than the maxscript. It's also better documented. I'm also playing with Houdini, which is not open-source, but it's great for creating "programmable" art. I'm falling in love with it.

However, i don't see many people using those tools in the industry. Most Blender guys are from archviz or CG. Houdini as well. So, my dilemma:
  • Should i create a portfolio with my work, and showcase my work with those tools?
  • Won't that "block" me from working in the industry?
  • Should i just drop Blender, learn MaxScript and keep going with it to make sure i get a job?

Replies

• sprunghunt
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter