Home General Discussion

Is the game industry really that bad to work in?

YellowYeti
vertex
Offline / Send Message
YellowYeti vertex
As someone who wants to work in the game industry as a 3d modeler, i've just seen or heard from a lot of people how shit the game industry is to work in. I wanted to hear from you guys what your opinions on that are, if they are telling the truth or it's like any job that has it's downsides and they are just blowing it out of proportion?

Replies

• Swizzle
    Offline / Send Message
    Swizzle polycounter lvl 15
    Depends on where you work. Some companies have a very crunch-centric culture and some companies would rather push a game's release date than make their employees do overtime, and there are tons of variations in between.

Most of the widely publicized problems in the game industry come from a combination of bad management and poor communication. For example, the troubles with EA a few years ago happened because the people in charge were forcing their employees into situations where they'd burn out.

Burnt-out employees = bad output = bad games = management pushing people harder.

This can happen in any industry. It tends to happen a lot in the game industry because a lot of the people working in it are young and eager to please.

As far as personal anecdotes: I've worked in some crappy places, but it wasn't enough to make me leave the game industry. I enjoy my job and I'm currently very invested in continuing to do my job.
  • YellowYeti
    Offline / Send Message
    YellowYeti vertex
    Ok swizzle, so something that's good to do is research the company you want to work for is what is sounds like. And also I've heard a lot about companies just having a pump and dump system for their employees which seems like it would get annoying after a while...
    And thanks for the reply!
  • HitmonInfinity
    Offline / Send Message
    HitmonInfinity polycounter lvl 11