Home Technical Talk

UV Packer IPackThat

Replies

• Dan Powell
    Offline / Send Message
    Dan Powell polycounter lvl 5
    I can upload an FBX of the object if that's any help?

The UV layouts look the same, but they're distorted/broken - as the checkerboard texture shows. :P

Note: It worked fine with the OBJ version of this object, just not the FBX

FBX - https://www.sendspace.com/file/3trvf0
  • Dan Powell
    Offline / Send Message
    Sammy101 wrote: »
    Hey did you try with .obj and ase and such file types too? I personally would just use .obj if that was the case with FBX myself. I am really eager to buy this but as a meager hobbyist I am careful with my money to make sure I don't get scammed like past experiences with auto UV programs.

It works just fine with an OBJ version of the same mesh - only the FBX breaks.

It's most likely to be an issue on my end that I'm not aware of. I may have a wrong setting checked or something that I don't know about?

I can work with the OBJ version, I just prefer FBX files because of how their world space/pivot remains.

Now that I understand how the software's algorithm works a bit more, it's getting better for me to use. It might take a few tries to get a solid UV result but after a few tried on the mesh I posted above I managed to get one with 30% wasted space on a decent layout - which is pretty good.

My main feedback is that it's a bit hard to group meshes and define how important grouping is. I posted on the Facebook but in the future it would be amazing to have a 3D view of the mesh so that you can select clusters from the 3D object, as this makes it far easier to group stuff.

I know what you mean moneywise too haha. I'm a student. :P I bought it to try it out and give feedback since it's good to have an input on software from an early stage, plus it's saving me headache time packing UVs. Could keep refining this a lot to get something spectacular
  • mospheric
    Offline / Send Message