Home General Discussion

The Vive: Valve enters VR

Oh crap! This thing has all the sensors that I want!
Finally someone has invested money into what can only be called the ultimate VR device (so far).

http://www.theverge.com/2015/3/1/8127445/htc-vive-valve-vr-headset

dbTkoa3.0.0.jpg

Screenshot_2015-03-01_10.52.26.0.png

As a developer I'm very excited. This may preemptively change the course of my career should an opportunity to work with this device presents itself.

What do you guys think?

Replies

• Tobbo
    Offline / Send Message
    Tobbo polycounter lvl 11
    This looks promising! Looking forward to seeing more!
  • Swizzle
    Offline / Send Message
    Swizzle polycounter lvl 15
    I'm interested in seeing what happens with this. Valve has a decent track record making tools available for their customers, but not a great track record making them very user-friendly.

I'm also curious about pricing. Those screens and sensors can't be cheap.
  • ZacD
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Two 1080p screens might be cheaper than one 1440p. I'm disappointed by the lack of integrated headphones, that has me a bit worried Valve isn't focusing on sound as much as Oculus.
  • Zack Maxwell
    Offline / Send Message
    Zack Maxwell interpolator
    I hope these things are all cross-compatible in games, like a gamepad.
    Otherwise, everyone trying to stick their fingers in the VR cake is just going to implode the whole thing.
  • thomasp
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    As a developer I'm very excited. This may preemptively change the course of my career should an opportunity to work with this device presents itself.

What do you guys think?

as far as VR goggles go the oculus rift was already exciting enough for me. have been playing with one for a long time now.