Home General Discussion

Becoming a 3D Character Artist, what is your opinion?

Paquette_e
triangle
Offline / Send Message
Paquette_e triangle
Hey guys!

First thing first, english isn't my native language, excuse my bad grammar.

I want to get your opinion about my learning path and I also have questions about the industry itself.

-My goal is to become a 3D Character Artist. I'm currently a full time self-taught.

So, what i'm planning to do approximately:
1-Pushing my drawing skill to do point where I'm going to be able to do 2D character design. ( Learning fundamentals, anatomy, gesture, etc...)
2-Starting to do traditional sculpting with clay to the point where I'm going to have a good understanding of sculpting.
3- At the same time as I learn to sculpt with clay, I'll continue to push my drawing skill, but I'll do the switch for digital drawings.
4- Once I'm confortable enough with digital drawing, I'll start to model in Max
5- Once I'm confortable enough with Max to model anything, I'll start to sculpt in Zbrush
6- Practice, Practice, Practice!

So what do you guys think about it? What is your opinion?

Should I look for a job as soon as I'll be able to model anything in max and learning Zbrush by the side at the same time as working?

Or is it something possible to get a first job as a 3D Character artist, is it plausible ?

Thank you for your help guys!

Replies

• SuperFranky
    Offline / Send Message
    SuperFranky polycounter lvl 10
    Sounds good to me, tho you can avoid any drawing or clay sculpting if you want, that's not really necessary. (Though won't hurt, that's for sure. Do it if you have time and patience, you won't regret any art skills you acquire).

I kinda regret not getting into drawing first before getting into 3d, so... But I think I'm doing fine without that, even though I'd be better off with that knowledge under my belt.
  • JacqueChoi
    Offline / Send Message
    JacqueChoi polycounter