Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Film Noir Themed "Project Rain"

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
visoutre polycounter lvl 6
projectRainDarikSmith1_zpsdde0bf4d.jpg~original

I'm in my final year of school and this will be the WIP of my thesis project. The requirement is to make a 1 minute animation, but I'm going to go a bit further by making an Unreal Engine 4 demo. Deadline for the animation is April 2014, will do some additional work after that.

Inspired by film noir/ classic Hollywood horror movies. Originally it was set in the 1920s but I decided to go more alternate world and have some 30s/40s influence in there as well.

Here's the premise:
A detective is assigned to a team investigating a group of missing persons cases. Soon that is not the only case to solve as monsters begin appearing around the city and crime is rapidly increasing, throwing the detective's life into chaos as she struggles to bring back the balance.

Hopefully I can make something exciting.

Edit on April 3rd, 2015: Here's some gameplay footage for this project I managed to pull together in 8 months. It was a nice experience to learn all aspects of production. For the remainder of the project I will polish the art. In the future I may return to this demo to develop a legit game, but before that I want to work with teams on other projects. Hope you guys like the potential.

[ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsGPBRDdPRI"]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsGPBRDdPR[/ame]

Replies

• visoutre
    Offline / Send Message
    art dump

projectRainDarikSmith2_zps3103bdeb.jpg~original

projectRainDarikSmith3_zpscdf34197.jpg~original

This is just a small amount of my inspirational material to get a feel for the theme I'm after.
    projectRainDarikSmith4_zps9f53d5fb.jpg~original