Homeโ€บ 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

The Monthly CHARACTER Challenge | November 2014 | the Martial Artist

Replies

• Nika
    Offline / Send Message
    Nika polycounter lvl 4
    @PyrZern: Nice, good job.
    @J_Kirkwood: I think her skull is too wide, the collar bone should have more defined shape. And I'm not sure but her lower legs seem too small. I like how you did her nose and lips.

Xz2EMzn.jpg
  • josh.0
    Offline / Send Message
    josh.0 polycounter lvl 5
    hey everyone, I've never done a 3d challenge before, but I figured I'd give it my best. This is probably the 2nd most detailed 3d character I've ever done, so I'm a bit of a newbie. I'm shooting for a low poly/mobile game model and I'm currently at 1918 polygons.

I made some of my own triangles instead of letting it auto-triangulate, because I think it takes on better volume at certain angles if I can control some of the triangles.

My only question at the moment: Is it okay to have one side polygons extruded from an edge? I figure I could probably cut down on polygons a bit if the hair was flat polygons.

Beyond that, I'd be extremely grateful for any advice!

bAFiDDU.jpg
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    It is okay. It becomes a question of processing costs since you have to throw double-sided rendering to make that poly face show on both sides.
  • iadagraca
    Offline / Send Message
    iadagraca polycounter lvl 5
    @Andromeda No problem glad I could help :D. I hope more people get in on this!

My progress so far. Once I add the scarf and basic hair i'll be ready for texture painting :D

(Yes i'm quite aware of the large ear just not returning to it yet)

I decided I would try a trial of Mudbox to decide if I want to pay for a subcription for that, or just keep trying to use mainly photoshop for painting textures.