Home Quixel Megascans

SUITE 1.7 PREVIEW AVAILABLE NOW (Updated: November 18)

Replies

• Shanteez
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shanteez polycounter lvl 5
    Well BLACK is actually the absence of COLOR. I would "NOT" use a none COLOR in a "COLOR ID map"... It's several of colors to use in the COLOR WHEEL but I stay away from BLACK and neutrals such as GREY and WHITE.

Cavity, CONVEXITY and OCCLUSION MAPS rely on non-colors and neutrals to identify with TRANSPARENCY among other things... SO i wouldn't think of this as a GLITCH... But I'm no developer just an artist with an opinion
  • akaChris
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    akaChris polycounter lvl 6
    Shanteez wrote: »
    Well BLACK is actually the absence of COLOR. I would "NOT" use a none COLOR in a "COLOR ID map"... It's several of colors to use in the COLOR WHEEL but I stay away from BLACK and neutrals such as GREY and WHITE.

Cavity, CONVEXITY and OCCLUSION MAPS rely on non-colors and neutrals to identify with TRANSPARENCY among other things... SO i wouldn't think of this as a GLITCH... But I'm no developer just an artist with an opinion

actually black in the color map is a new feature of 1.7: Seam Termination support // Uses black color in color map to find UV borders, so make sure the color map background is black!

and I`m not talking about the albedo/diffuse map. I`m strictly talking color map, which just maps materials to colors. so black is just an identifier in this case. of course black in an albedo map is a different matter altogether

the new feature just seems to have unintended side effects which I still would call a bug :)
  • Shanteez
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Question: What's the color of the background of an ID map by default?