Home Technical Talk

Tri count for weapon sights/accessories for a modern shooter?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
james swanson polycounter lvl 5
Hi, I just started modeling an EOTech su 231 holographic sight. This is my first time modeling an accessory for a gun. What would you recommend I aim for (pun) tri count wise if I'm going for a modern PC FPS game? I was thinking somewhere around 1.5-2k, but that's just a guess.

Replies

• Steppenwolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steppenwolf polycounter lvl 15
    Sounds about right to me. Ther's no number set in stone however. Don't waste polies where the player can barely or never see this part of the weapon, avoid edge loops that add nothing to the shape or quality of bake results but don't be shy to use enough polies and side number of cylinders where it actualy matters (especialy parts close to the eye when weapon is zoomed in).
  • james swanson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks.
    avoid edge loops that add nothing to the quality of bake

Do extra loops in a LP help with baking, too? I thought I was just supposed to avoid long, thin triangles and that was it...
  • Steppenwolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steppenwolf polycounter lvl 15
    Do extra loops in a LP help with baking, too? I thought I was just supposed to avoid long, thin triangles and that was it...

Yes pretty much what i meant by that. Also in some cases you might want to use an edge bevel over a harsh edge.
  • Joost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joost polycount sponsor
    Extra loops can definitely affect baking results on long polys (and in other situations as well) Details tend to get deformed on those. Don't really have an example atm but the easiest way to see the difference is by just trying it out yourself.
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message