Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Jack McKelvie. 3d Sketchbook and Commissions.

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Jack M. interpolator
Hey everybody,

I've decided to move my previous thread to a new one because I discovered I couldn't change the title of this thread to something more appropriate. I would like to keep the thread up to date and several months down the line the title could be very misleading. My apologies!

With that said I would like to get crits for my ongoing push into doing freelance work as a 3d artist. As a growing artist I always feel the need to do better and I know I need your help to accomplish that. So going forward I would like to know what I've done wrong, what I could do better, what looks good, what looks bad, and how I can continue to improve myself in the future.

Here is one of my previous props I posted on an old thread. The pipe consists of one 512x512 texture, one 256x256 detail texture, and one 256x256 normal map. They are all three tilable and the colors are changed via material.

This is also one of my first attempts at creating a pbr metal material. At first I had a lot of difficulty forming a proper metal material so I settled on going halfway on the metallic node. Later I discovered that was the incorrect way in going about getting a metal material, but I was still getting a very black material when going full metallic. As it turns out I was breaking some of the rules of pbr and once I aligned to the general rules of pbr I started getting some really nice effects. In the end I came up with this for my pipe.

PjdC0IT.png

Replies

• Jack M.
    Offline / Send Message
    Jack M. interpolator
    Here are the textures. Due to the struggle I have been having with pbr I used unreals textures as a base to work from. The only one that I didn't modify heavily is the normal map. The rest were changed quite a bit.

UV's

laHIDv9.png

Main Albedo

0tzMEuc.jpg

Detail

smcH1fN.jpg

Normal

AsbNUD6.jpg
  • Shiniku