Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

New Freelancer Looking for Crits

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Jack M. interpolator
Hey fellow polycounters,

I'm once again looking for some constructive criticism from this excellent community. This time it is for my first freelance works. I did most of these works very cheaply as I'm still fresh to freelance work. Every single person I have worked with so far has been exceptionally happy with my services.

However, as a growing artist I always feel the need to do better. So going forward I would like to know what I did wrong, what I could have done better, what looks good, what looks bad, and how I can provide better pieces in the future.

With that being said I will continue to update this thread as I continue to do freelance work. Please critique away. Any advice is also welcome.

Here is a pipe that was made for a sci-fi scene. It was rendered in marmoset toolbag 2 and was intended to be implemented in Unreal Engine 4.

imJRil3.jpg

Diffuse

WhtLVrk.jpg

Normal

deh9ih8.jpg

roughness

njyBNmn.jpg

Replies

• Jack M.
    Offline / Send Message
    Jack M. interpolator
    I just finished up a sci-fi cable.

A5W27N5.jpg

Diffuse

FFE0wqV.png

Normal

AXNCjPT.png

Roughness

jpJ98c9.png
  • billymcguffin
    Offline / Send Message
    billymcguffin polycounter lvl 11
    These props look alright, but it's really hard to say much of anything because they're so insignificant. A pipe and a cable isn't much to go off of. You have two cylinders with some textures... I'd suggest working on a more complex 'hero' prop which would be much more interesting and probably a better indication on your overall skill that people can give feedback on, or an environment to put these small props in.

The pipe's material definition is lackluster. It appears like it should be metal, but the albedo is too bright for a metal surface. In a PBR workflow, pure metals should be nearly black, if not completely black.