Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

1911 Model I've been working on. I'm new to texturing and 3D in general (18yo)

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
james swanson polycounter lvl 5
I know there are some things I can improve on. The textures aren't finished, but I just got dDo 2 days ago so Im still in the process of learning that tool. Some textures are repetitive, and I need to touch up the overall wear on the paint.

I'd like to hear some constructive criticism. Please tell me what you think!

Replies

• PyrZern
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern polycounter lvl 12
    It looks nice, but it seems you rely too much on dDO. As in, you slapped multiple stuff on it, and they don't work that well together. A few months back I made a character and I used dDO for the first time on it. Result was something like this.

Also, maybe more polycount on it ? If you want nice details and scratches, then surely it will be viewed at close range. Get rid of those blocky edges ?

I will leave the rest to hard-surface/prop/envo artists...

Also, welcome to Polycount !!!
  • james swanson
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern wrote: »
    It looks nice, but it seems you rely too much on dDO. As in, you slapped multiple stuff on it, and they don't work that well together. A few months back I made a character and I used dDO for the first time on it. Result was something like this.

Also, maybe more polycount on it ? If you want nice details and scratches, then surely it will be viewed at close range. Get rid of those blocky edges ?

I will leave the rest to hard-surface/prop/envo artists...

Also, welcome to Polycount !!!